Firestone announces title sponsor for Laguna Seca NTT INDYCAR Series season finale


Firestone, entering its 25th consecutive year as an Indy car tire supplier and 20th straight as the sole supplier, will bookend the 2019 NTT IndyCar Series season with race entitlement sponsorships, with the announcement Wednesday that the season-ending race at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca has been named the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey.

Bridgestone Americas, Inc. and the County of Monterey, California, announced the two-year agreement for the Firestone brand to be the title sponsor of the Sept. 20-22 event. This year’s race will mark the first for Indy cars on the popular 11-turn, 2.238-mile permanent road course in 15 years.

The Firestone brand also returns as race entitlement sponsor for the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, the event that kicks off the season March 8-10.

“Firestone is a time-tested brand with a rich tradition in open-wheel racing, making it the perfect match for INDYCAR’s return to this iconic road course,” said Lisa Boggs, director of motorsports, Bridgestone Americas. “With this new sponsorship, Firestone now will help deliver great events for fans when the NTT IndyCar Series season goes green in St. Petersburg and crosses the finish line in Monterey – while continuing to provide world-class tire technology for every lap in between.”

Located on California’s central coast, WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca is owned and operated by the County of Monterey and known for its famous Corkscrew turn – a nearly six-story drop in elevation on an esse between Turns 8 and 8A. The circuit hosted Indy car races from 1983-2004, with winners including the likes of Bobby Rahal (four straight years), Danny Sullivan, Rick Mears, Michael Andretti, Alex Zanardi and Helio Castroneves. True to its Indy car heritage, the track also features such landmarks as the Andretti Hairpin in Turn 2 and Rahal Straight between Turns 6 and 7.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here